Geography of St Lucia

The Geography of St Lucia in the Caribbean

St Lucia is 239 Sq Miles (619 Sq Km), 14 miles across and 27 miles long and is a part of the Windward Islands with Martinique 21 miles north, Barbados 100 miles east and St Vincent and the Grenadines 25 miles to the south.

St Lucia is a part of the British Commonwealth. The head of state is the Queen of England and we have an elected democratic government with a Prime Minister and a legal system very similar to that of England.

The official language is English with a French based creole often spoken as a second language.

St Lucia is lush, warm and green, with tropical rainforest covering much of the island. The dramatic topography of St Lucia varies from over 3000ft (900metres) above sea level, all the way down to the shores of the beautiful Caribbean sea.

The average temperature is 25 C (77 Fahrenheit) all year round. The wet season is from June to September and dry season is from February to May.

The currency is the East Caribbean Dollar made up of 100 Cents and is fixed to the US Dollar at a rate of EC$2.68 to US$1.0

The Pitons

The population is around 180 000 people with the main religion being Roman Catholic.

St Lucia has some striking physical features, with beautiful lush rainforest in the  interior of the island giving way to beautiful coves and beaches on the coastline.

The island is famous for its world heritage site, the two Pitons, Gros Piton and Petit Piton which are situated in the south west of the Island. The land is fertile and supports many fruit trees including Mango, Avocado, Grapefruit, Orange, Lemon and Lime.

The main industries are the export of bananas and tourism. is the official site of the Multiple Listing & Real Estate Services of St. Lucia (MLRES), with real estate offices located in Soufriere & Dennery. Multiple Listing & Real Estate Services is a member of the Realtors Association of St Lucia , Inc.